Zurich, Switzerland (PRWEB) October 07, 2013
NSA documents leaked by Edward Snowden reveal that online activity of much of the world is monitored, recorded and analyzed systematically. In the name of national security, anyone’s personal data can be accessed without their consent (The Guardian - June 09, 2013). Such attacks against online privacy are taking place all over the world where governments, corporations and hackers use extreme measures to gain access to anyone’s digital life.
When it comes to transferring files across computers and devices, there are numerous tools available but none will completely protect a user’s privacy. In order to work, services like Dropbox or Airdrop require to setup a user account by providing personal details. Other systems like Bump use device information in combination with location data. All user activity is logged and can be easily matched to a specific user ID, an email or a person's real name. Even when encryption is provided, the stored data can still be decrypted and accessed by security officials or exploited by hackers (Wired - September 5, 2013).
Bitdrop Inc. pioneers a new solution to anonymous and secure file transfers built around the concept of "Zero Knowledge Privacy.” The Bitdrop App allows transfers of files, photos, videos and more. It works without the need to create a user account and all transfers are protected using "256-bit Variable Encryption". In addition, the service doesn't keep any activity logs. As a result, nothing links file transfers to any particular user and it is impossible to exploit private user data.
To send files from a computer to a mobile device, there is no software to install, cable to plug or network to setup. Bitdrop users simply need to open a web browser to the Bitdrop Transfers site https://usebd.com and scan the displayed “Secure Thumbprint” - a special QR code - using the App. This establishes a secure, anonymous and temporary connection between the computer and the device running Bitdrop. Files selected in the web browser are then encrypted during transfer, using encryption keys generated on the device and stored only inside the App.
All files protected within the App can be shared securely with anyone. The receiver doesn't need to have the App or even own an email account. Any file shared using Bitdrop is encrypted on the device before it is transferred. Encrypted shared files are automatically wiped from the service either when a transfer completes or after 24 hours if never downloaded. If a pending transfer is canceled, shared files are immediately wiped. The sender can inform the receiver that files are available for download by using the built-in anonymous email notification - which contain a secure download link - or by directly providing the receiver with a unique “download code” that needs to be entered on https://usebd.com.
Bitdrop not only protects its users' identities and files but their contacts as well. The App allows to easily hide any or all of the contacts saved on the device. The identity and details of these hidden contacts will then be visible only inside Bitdrop - after entering the correct App access code. For example, a hidden contact called from within the App will only appear as an unrecognized number in the phone call log. The personal details of this contact will never appear outside of Bitdrop.