Nominations Being Accepted for 2016 AIM Awards

Recognize an Industry Leader in Automatic Identification
Nominations Being Accepted for 2016 AIM Awards

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania | March 7, 2016 | AIM, the leading industry association, global authority and resource for knowledge, education, advocacy and standards in barcode, RFID, the Internet of Things, RAIN, RTLS, NFC and mobile computing, announced the opening of the nomination period for its annual automatic identification and data capture industry awards.

Each year, the AIM Awards honor individuals as well as organizations that not only promote the industry, but demonstrate significant contributions to enhanced and new technologies.

Nominations for the AIM 2016 Awards are being sought to recognize outstanding achievement in five specific categories. Open to both AIM members and non-members alike, the 2016 recipients, chosen by AIM’s global Board of Directors, will be honored at a special presentation during AIM Summit 2016 on May 2nd in Orlando, Florida.

Established in 1984, the Dilling Award is the highest award given in the Automatic Identification and Data Capture (AIDC) industry. It is presented to executives, scientists, and engineers in recognition of outstanding contributions that have furthered the growth of the industry through important applications and new technological developments.

The Percival Award was established in 1982 to honor Don Percival, an early founder and pioneer in the development of barcode scanning. The Award, co-sponsored by the SCAN-Data Capture Report and AIM, is presented annually to an individual or organization from the user community recognizing outstanding contributions to the application of automatic identification and data capture technologies.

Named in honor of Ted Williams, an industry innovator, collaborator, and long-time member of the AIM Technical Symbology Committee, the Williams Award is presented each year to a professor or student in recognition of innovative and exceptional contributions that can further the growth of the automatic identification and mobility industry through their work as a teacher, researcher, or entrepreneur.

The Gilligan Award was established in 2012 to honor a revolutionary developer of supply chain standards across multiple industries. This award, co-sponsored by AIM and the Material Handling Institute (MHI), is given to a member of the industry that has made outstanding contributions to the development of automatic identification and data communications (AIDC) applications in materials handling and logistics in the supply chain.

Named in 2012 to honor life-long industry contributor and expert Bert Moore, the Moore Excellence in Journalism Award recognizes a member of the media whose unbiased communications contribute to a greater understanding of the automatic identification and mobility industry as a whole.

The deadline for 2016 award nominations is April 1, 2016. Online nomination forms can be accessed here, or by visiting the AIM website. For detailed award criteria information, visit AIM Industry Awards.

All awards will be presented during a special ceremony set to take place during AIM Summit 2016 on May 2nd at the Rosen Centre Hotel in Orlando, Florida. For more information about the AIM Summit, contact AIM headquarters at +1.724.742.4470 or visit AIM Summit 2016online.

About AIM
For over 40 years, AIM has served as the industry association and worldwide authority and resource for automatic identification, data capture technologies and innovation. AIM members are manufacturers, distributors, re-sellers and end-users of barcode, RFID, the Internet of Things, RAIN, RTLS and mobile computing solutions. AIM is dedicated to accelerating the growth and use of automatic identification and data capture technologies, innovations and services around the world. Visit us online at



Other Barcode News Blogs that may interest you:

Tagged under RFID Internet of Things